Google Promise To Start Flagging Fake Download Buttons

Those tactical and trickish download link buttons you do see around trying to lure people into installing unwanted software or revealing your personal information (for example, passwords, phone numbers, or credit cards) will soon be over. I mean the Click HERE to download, Download Here or Download now buttons you click unintentionally just to know if it is the real download link. I can boldly say that even many internet literates had fallen for this trick before, and I am not excluded.

DONT MISS THIS==>  Lenovo Air 13 Pro with 4GB RAM, Fingerprint recognition launched

SBWarnBlur

Google today is now expanding its Safe Browsing protection program to protect you from such deceptive embedded content, like ads found on Social Medias and Websites.

Below are some examples of deceptive content, shown via ads:
This image claims that your software is out-of-date to trick you into clicking “update”.

 

This image mimics a dialogue from the FLV software developer — but it does not actually originate from this developer.
These buttons seem like they will produce content that relate to the site (like a TV show or sports video stream) by mimicking the site’s look and feel. They are often not distinguishable from the rest of the page.

How You Will Get Affected

DONT MISS THIS==>  Tuoda Magnum S5 Dual SIM Phone Price In Nigeria

If Google detects that your website contains social engineering content (content that tricks visitors into doing something dangerous, like revealing confidential information or downloading software), the Chrome browser may display a “Deceptive site ahead” warning when visitors view your site. You can check if any pages on your site are suspected of containing social engineering attacks by visiting the Security Issues report.

DONT MISS THIS==>  Asus Unveils The Zenfone 3 Laser & Zenfone 3 Max

A social engineering attack happens when either:

  • The content pretends to act, or looks and feels, like a trusted entity — like a browser, operating system, bank, or government.
  • The content tries to trick you into doing something you’d only do for a trusted entity — like sharing a password, calling tech support, or downloading software.
DONT MISS THIS==>  'Apple Park' - Apple's New Campus To Be Opened To Employees In April

source: googleonlinesecurity

Never Miss An Update; Like Our Facebook Page Or Follow Us On Twitter. You Can As Well Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel To Get 1st Hand Information.

Subscribe Now With Your Email To Receive Free Updates!!!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here