At present, there are many restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, schools and other spaces that offer free Wi-Fi connectivity and therefore, when we visit them for the first time we take advantage to connect. However, these networks are sometimes saturated, our iPhone connects automatically as soon as they are detected, and then we suffer from slowness in connected applications. Whether for this reason or simply because you want to do a cleaning and remove networks that you connected to in your last trips, then we will show you how to do it in a very simple way.

iPhone and iPad: how to make them forget about certain WiFi networks

This time, in addition to making our iOS device forget those WiFi networks that no longer interest us manually, we will also see how to customize the network settings of your iPhone or iPad to see how it handles the connection to wireless networks.

  • First, open the Settings application on your iPhone or iPad and then select the Wi-Fi section, where the network to which you are currently connected appears.

  • Touch the information icon that you see to the right of the name of the network to which you are connected
  • Press Forget this network at the top of the screen

If you want to eliminate other networks to which you have previously been connected to, you can do it from your Mac if you use iCloud Keychain. However, at the moment, there is no way to do this directly from your iOS device, you can only omit the WiFi network to which you are currently connected.

In addition, if you want your iPhone or your iPad to remember a Wi-Fi network but not connect to it automatically, just turn off the switch next to “Automatic connection”.

How to stop automatically joining a network

I have multiple access points in my household so I can, for example, allow guests to join my wifi. Sometimes, however, my devices will default to a network I don’t want to be on. In iOS 11 and higher, disabling auto-joining a network will stop your iPhone or iPad from joining a network you want to keep in your settings, but don’t necessarily want to join every time. When in range of the wi-fi network, follow the steps below.

  1. Launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap Wi-Fi.
  3. Tap the info button next to the wi-fi network you want to forget. It looks like a lower-case I.
  4. Turn the Auto-Join switch off.

How to find out if a wi-fi network is available in range

If you want to know what wi-fi networks are within range, you can receive a notification asking if you want to join or not. You’ll never be automatically connected to an unknown network, whether you’re receiving these notifications or not, but this setting will help you discover networks you can join.

  1. Launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap Wi-Fi.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and turn the Ask to Join Networks switch on.

If you’ve previously joined a network, you’ll be automatically connected again when you are within range, whether this setting is enabled or not.

Any questions?

Do you have any questions about how to forget a wi-fi network?

Don't Tell Anyone! Enter Your Email Address To Receive Free Updates!!!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here