How to take live photos on FaceTime

FaceTime is an iOS feature that disappeared for a short time from iOS 12, to reintroduce it in the 12.1.1 version. This option allows you to take a picture of a person you are chatting with. When you take a FaceTime photo, you'll capture a live image.

This means that the device will acquire a few seconds before and after the image, making it more a short video. This article will examine the steps you need to perform before you can take a FaceTime Live Photo and we will also discuss how to see them and what to do if something doesn't work.

STEP 1: ACTIVATE FACETIME LIVE PHOTO

You need to enable FaceTime's Live Photo before you can find it on your phone. To activate this feature, you must follow these steps:

  1. Open Settings on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Touch the FaceTime menu (camera icon).
  3. Activate the FaceTime Live Photo menu.

You must have at least iOS 11 installed on your device to use this feature. If you can't find it on your iPhone or iPad, you have an older version of the operating system. In that case, you should try updating your device and, if it doesn't work, you need to get a newer one.

If you want to take a FaceTime photo, both users must enable this feature. If the person you are communicating with has disabled the Live Photo option, you will not be able to take a picture. This helps ensure the privacy of people: if you don't want anyone to take pictures of you live while you're on FaceTime, you should disable this feature.

Note that no one can take a picture of FaceTime live without your knowledge. Once someone captures a live image, you will receive a notification.

STEP 2: ACQUIRE A LIVE IMAGE

When you enable FaceTime's Live Photo feature correctly, you will be able to take a live picture of your conversations. Follow these steps:

  1. Open the FaceTime app.
  2. In the search box at the top, type the name, e-mail or phone number of the person you are planning to chat with.
  3. Tap the camera button on the right to start a FaceTime video chat.
  4. Wait for the contact to respond.
  5. Touch the shutter button on the lower left of the screen to capture an image.

If a notification appears that says "You need to enable FaceTime on both devices", the person on the other side did not allow live photos in their settings.

STEP 3: FIND FACETIME LIVE PHOTO

Once you manage to capture a FaceTime Live Photo, you should search for it on your device. The device should store them in the Photos app by default. Go to the app menu and tap the Photos app. You should find all the live photos you captured here.

If you can't find your images in the Photos app, check if third-party storage apps have been activated, as your device may automatically archive live photos there. Also, if you don't have enough memory, you won't be able to capture new images.

Also read: How To Search For Anything In The Photos App of iPhone/iPad

DON'T THE LIVE PHOTOS WORK?

If the function of FaceTime live photos does not work and is not for the reasons mentioned above, there are some ways to solve the problem.

RESTORE FACETIME

Sometimes this app can present anomalies or errors, especially after a new update. To solve this problem, simply deactivate it and then reactivate it.

  1. Go to the Settings app.
  2. Touch the FaceTime menu.
  3. Turn off the FaceTime option.
  4. Disable live photos.
  5. Wait a moment.
  6. Activate both again.

Once the app restarts, it should start working normally. If not, proceed to the next step.

FORCE THE DEVICE REBOOT

If you force the iPhone to reboot, it will automatically shut down and restart the system, which should handle any bugs. To restart the system, here's what you need to do:

For iPhone 7 and later:

  1. Hold down the Volume Down and Power buttons simultaneously for half a minute.
  2. Release once the Apple logo appears again.

For iPhone 6S and earlier versions:

  1. Press and hold the power button and the home button for 30 seconds.
  2. Release when the logo appears on the display.

AN ALTERNATIVE TO THE LIVE PHOTOS

There is another method you can use to capture FaceTime images, and this is the screenshot method. You can use the screenshot shortcut key (Home button + lock screen) and the device will automatically capture the image on the screen. The person on the other side will not be notified of anything in this case.

So be careful when using FaceTime. Even if you disable the live photo feature, there is a way other people can capture an image of you.

CAPTURE THE MOMENT

FaceTime lets you decide when other users can capture your photos live. But you can't prevent the person you're chatting with on video from taking screenshots, so FaceTime isn't the best option if you want total privacy.

Do you always keep your FaceTime Live Photo feature active? If not, why? Share your opinions in the comments below.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More