Remove Location Data Photos Videos
Photo credit: canva.com

The pictures and clips you capture with your iPhone are filled with bits of information named metadata, including the location where they were taken. The metadata makes it simpler for Photos to organize your media; however, if these pictures and clips get into the wrong hands, anyone will be able to locate your home and office. Fortunately for you, iOS 13 has simplified the process of wiping the geotag from photos and clips before sharing, and we can break it down for you.

When anyone shares a picture with geolocation coordinates tagged in the EXIF data, the receiver can use their Photos application to approximate where that image was captured, be it from home, the office, or somewhere else. When iOS 13 had not been launched, there were lots of brilliant ways to get rid of geotags from photos and videos, including deactivating Location Services, capturing a screenshot, and erasing or changing the GPS coordinates with a 3rd-party app.

However, since iOS 13 got unveiled, it has presented us a feature that lets users get rid of location from a picture, video, or group of photos and clips you wish to share through Messages, Mail, AirDrop, Facebook, Messenger e.t.c. With it, you do not need to be bothered about a stalker knowing your location from your iPhone files. See How to Remove Location Data From Photos And Videos On iOS Devices:

Remove Location Data Photos Videos
Photo credit: nakedsecurity.sophos.com

You Might Also Want To Read: How To Transfer Your WhatsApp From iPhone To Android

1. Open Up the Share Sheet

Location removal is strictly accessible in the Photos application. Therefore you need to share media from Photos directly to get rid of geotags. In Photos, locate the album or section where the content you wish to share is. If you are sending one photo or clip, open it, and click “Share.” To share several pictures and videos, click “Select” in the album or section view, tick them all then tap “Share.”

Remove Location Data Photos Videos
Photo credit: ios.gadgethacks.com

2. Remove the Location Data

Way up on the Share sheet, also known as the activity view, “Location Included” or “Locations Included.” will be visible. In specific cases, the location itself might be shown. Click the blue “Options” setting with the arrow at the top, then ensure “Location” under the Include section is toggled off. This will help you to remove the embedded location from the picture, clip, or group of pictures and videos. Tap “Done,” and you will begin to see “No Location” at the top.

Remove Location Data Photos Videos
Photo credit: ios.gadgethacks.com

To confirm, scroll up on the photo or video in the Photos app. If location is enabled, a map will be visible with an approximation of where it was taken under “Places.” If you disable “Location” with the fresh feature and share the picture or clip, on the other device, no location data will be visible. Be aware that this feature will only affect pictures and clips you send, not the ones that are already on your smartphone.

Remove Location Data Photos Videos
Photo credit: ios.gadgethacks.com

You Might Also Want To Read: How Do I Video Chat On WhatsApp With My iPhone Or Android Device

That is that.


Do you like TechLector? We count on you! Follow us on Google News; click here and then Follow. Thank you!

Don't forget to also follow us on Facebook, TwitterInstagram!

Get free notifications on your smartphone or computer whenever we publish an important article? Click here.

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here